God of a Humble Request

June 17, 2011 Donna New

And he called the name of that place Beth-el…20 And Jacob vowed a vow, saying, If God will be with me, and will keep me in this way that I go, and will give me bread to eat, and raiment to put on, 21 so that I come again to my father’s house in peace, and Jehovah will be my God, 22 then this stone, which I have set up for a pillar, shall be God’s house. Genesis 28:19-22
Beth – el  = house of God

If You will clothe me and feed me and speak to my heart to love and guide me, I will come back to live near Your Name. 

Jacob left to live in a foreign land. He married a man named Laban’s daughters,tricked by Laban into marrying one of them and was deceived by Laban and mistreated by him for more than seven years. But his God always prospered him which made Laban even more jealous of his son-in-law.

Genesis 31:4 4 So Jacob sent word for Rachel and Leah to meet him out in the field where his flocks were.  And he  told them what the Lord had said…
Genesis 31:12, 13 I know what Laban has done to you… 13 “I’m the God of Bethel where you consecrated a pillar and made a vow to me. Now be on your way, get out of this place, go home to your birthplace.”

“I have seen the way your father-in-law has cheated you. Jacob, I AM the God of Bethel”…

…the God that wants them near His Name and takes care of Those who love Him, those who are humble before Him. 

And the girls agreed, “Jacob, let’s go to your land. Our dad has treated us as deceitfully as he has treated you.” So, Jacob, with a listening ear for his wives and his God, took everything he rightfully owned and went on his way.

Entry Filed under: He is Our Help,His Love,Humility,In Our Heart

One Comment Add your own


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

Posts by Date

June 2011
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Category Cloud

Giving of Gifts Gratefulness Guilt Free He is Our Help His Love Humility In Our Heart Judge Not Light Pray Always Troubles Uncategorized Whisper the Secret
 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

