On an adventure!

August 2, 2010 Donna New

…to a place I’ve never driven to. Thunderstorms God has planned for me when I get there according to the weatherman. This will mean driving on a mountain road. But my sister will meet me at the bottom of the mountain to get me safely there. Oh and there are bats in the belfry when I get there. Should be fun!!

Well I didn’t run into thunderstorms.  But I ran into a bit of trouble. I was trying to get to North Carolina before dark. I left Melbourne at noon and immediately there was bumper to bumper traffic! I was out of that in a half hour or so. Then in Georgia I was afraid I had missed one of the exits so I turned around to check if I had. It took about half an hour to get to the previous  exit by which time I realized I needed to turn back around and keep heading north. Someone once asked me if I did this kind of thing on purpose. I realize now that I don’t. I’m a little ADD and I turn before I’ve really considered my options!  So head north I did. The number exit I needed was in another state.  I stopped to fill up my truck’s fuel tank and get something to eat and drink. It was getting close to sunset and I wanted to be filled up before dark. I got back on the road only to realize the pump had turned off before the tank was half full!! By the time I found another gas station it was dark and my phone was completely out of range so I couldn’t call my sister to tell her I was running VERY late. I tried a payphone which was out of order and took my money. Finally by midnight (I was supposed to arrive by 8PM.) I got to a place I could use my phone. I called my sister who cried with relief and she told me to get a hotel and drive the rest of the way in the morning. So I did. The mountain roads are more steep than I would have wanted to do at night. The gentleman there didn’t wait for confirmation of the credit card. He said “You look tired. We’ll go ahead and get you a room!”  I don’t have A/C in my truck and I was tired, sunburned and windblown…probably a very curious sight! The next morning, was I glad to get to her cabin!! It had a beautiful view and contained people I loved. We had a wonderful week. I’ll put pictures up soon.

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

Posts by Date

August 2010
M T W T F S S
    Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Category Cloud

Giving of Gifts Gratefulness Guilt Free He is Our Help His Love Humility In Our Heart Judge Not Light Pray Always Troubles Uncategorized Whisper the Secret
 
