Confident and Competent

October 27, 2010 Donna New

We have this treasure in earthen vessels.

“We have this type of confidence toward God through Christ, not that we are competent in ourselves to consider anything as coming from ourselves, but our competence is from God. He has made us competent to be ministers of a new covenant, not of the letter but of the Spirit; for the letter kills but the Spirit produces life.” 2 Corinthians 3:4-6

Chuck Swindoll and Adrian Rogers write (and wrote) devotions and they so often speak exactly what I need to hear. And they must touch others’ lives because they are popular and famous. There are ladies whose devotions I read that bring me to tears sometimes because of their grace. Paul wrote a lot of the New Testament so God must have felt like he was a competent minister. These people have reason it seems to be confident because they are so competent.

My nephew was five years old and he was in trouble with his babysitter, me. I told him he was not to do whatever he was doing. He said to me, “I can’t do anything right, Aunt Donna.” I said yes you do. As a five year old he and I had just had a conversation about why I wasn’t married. I told him I just hadn’t found anyone yet. He told me “You’ll find someone.” It may seem simple but coming from a five year old it spoke to me and comforted me. So I told him he had just done something right and special to me. He doesn’t do everything wrong. There are some important things he does right.

This five year old was a competent minister. God used him to minister in the Spirit, not the letter of the law. If we pray and listen to God’s word and obey to the best of our knowledge we are competent ministers. It’s not a matter of forcing people to obey the commandments. It’s showing grace, it’s encouraging, it’s speaking what someone’s heart needs to hear.

One more illustration, I have a friend who’s imperfect and that’s encouraging to me because he wants to grow. He can sing and play the guitar and seems to know the exact song I need to hear at the exact time I need it. He’s an imperfect person who is a competent minister. That brings me hope. I have qualities about me that I really don’t like. I’d love to hide them all and seem perfect. That would make me a better minister right? Well Paul says our confidence comes from God not from ourselves and He has made us competent ministers. And God says through Paul “But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us.” 2 Corinthians 4:5

Lord, my heart longs to minister to people. There are such needs in each person. You say You have made me confident and competent. Help me be used of you like my five year old nephew and my friend. Make me most of all like You, Jesus. And when I’m not like You I’m a jar of clay that You choose to use anyway.

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sarah  |  October 27, 2010 at 2:52 pm

    Enjoyed reading your blog today. Felt such a sweet spirt here. Praying for you.

    • 2. purplefacedpansy  |  October 27, 2010 at 10:21 pm

      Thank you Sarah. I really appreciate the words and that you’re praying for me. Take care. Donna


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

Posts by Date

October 2010
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Category Cloud

Giving of Gifts Gratefulness Guilt Free He is Our Help His Love Humility In Our Heart Judge Not Light Pray Always Troubles Uncategorized Whisper the Secret
 
