Take Me In

November 4, 2010 Donna New

Therefore, brethren, since we have full freedom and confidence to enter into the Holy of Holies [by the power and the virtue] in the blood of Jesus, by this fresh (new) and living way which He initiated and dedicated and opened for us through the separating curtain (veil of the Holy of Holies) that is through His flesh. Hebrews 10:19, 20

The Holy of Holies on earth, as a type of what was in heaven, was a place only Moses or a priest could go. It was holy and a priest could die in there for messing up the sacrifice. There was a veil, of thick material, that separated the Holy of Holies from the rest of the Temple. The Holy of Holies was where fearful God dwelt. The Holy of Holies in heaven is where fearful God dwells. Only Moses was not fearful. He spoke to God face to face, as with a friend.

When Jesus came and died the veil of thick material was actually split in two. It was a miracle showing that no longer was only the priest allowed in there, it was opened to all of us who want to be near God. Moses was one of my favorite leaders in the Bible. And I believe the reason is that he spent so much time in the Holy of Holies and found answers to prayer there, He found fellowship with God who was so fearful to most others, he was so near God he came out with his face glowing. When he was having trouble with his people misbehaving he would immediately stop and go to God right into the Holy of Holies in heaven. He could pray from anywhere. I want to be like him. I want to enter the Holy of Holies as often as possible and be so near God that His wisdom permeates my life. There’s a song by Kutless (lyrics by Dave Browning)…
“Take Me In”

Take me past the outer courts
Into the Holy Place
Past the brazen altar
Lord I want to see your face
Pass me by the crowds of people
And the Priests who sing your praise
I hunger and thirst for your righteousness
But it’s only found in one place

[Chorus:]
Take me into the holy of holies
Take me in by the blood of the lamb
Take me into the holy of holies
Take the coal, touch my lips, here I am.

Isaiah 6 says that the Lord high and mighty appeared to Isaiah. Isaiah told Him “Behold! I am undone. I am a man of unclean lips…” So an angel brought a coal from the altar and touched his lips and said “Now you are clean.” Then God asked “Who will go for us?” and Isaiah said, “Here I am. Send me.”

It just dawned on me that as much as I would love to stay in the Holy of Holies I have to say “Here I am. Send me.” I have to be willing to go, praying all the way, but nevertheless going.

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

Posts by Date

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Category Cloud

Giving of Gifts Gratefulness Guilt Free He is Our Help His Love Humility In Our Heart Judge Not Light Pray Always Troubles Uncategorized Whisper the Secret
 
