In the Dark

December 1, 2010 Donna New

What I say to you in the dark, tell in the light; and what you hear whispered in the ear, proclaim upon the housetops. Matthew 10:27

I was praying for my family and I was just observing how kind their hearts are. And so I prayed that God would give His kind heart to their kindness. I want God’s grace for their lives and His goodness. The reason I tell you this is it’s the last thing God whispered in my ear and I felt like it should be proclaimed.

God whispered in my ear Sunday to be grateful for my family at our weekly get together. I wasn’t. I was in an irritable mood. I chose to watch the football game…a whisper I ignored.

He told me to begin praying for you who read this. You have needs and you have joys and I want to be filled with the Holy Spirit so that I write something that fulfills you, something with meaning. It is empty to write without prayer. What matters is that I write to please the Lord and give a message for your heart.

In 1 Corinthians 12 the Lord talks about our spiritual gifts and how each gift is needed in the church. No gift is unimportant. No gift is more honorable.  And they are given so that we give care to one another. Your gift is meant to be shared the way God has called you to share it. Don’t keep it hidden.

What has God whispered in your ear that needs to be proclaimed? Not everything does. We have to be prudent with what we say. Or what gift has He given you to give to someone else? His secrets are meant to be told. Some secrets are told by our mouth or by pen some are told by our actions. I love it! Secrets we don’t have to keep quiet! Secrets we were meant to not hold in but to squeal in delight to those around us.

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sarah  |  December 1, 2010 at 8:48 pm

    Enjoyed your post today. I love getting together with my family but there is always that one person who you just have to try really hard to be nice to. The days leading up to Thanksgiving I really prayed about this. I made a very conscience effort to be nice and friendly to everyone. I had a really good say. I have lost to very special family members in the past two years. It has made me really think about how small our differences really are. I want to love and enjoy my family more. Time is so short.

  • 2. Sarah  |  December 1, 2010 at 8:51 pm

    Correction to my comment. I meant to say that I had a really good day. Ialso meant that I have lost two family members. Sorry for so many misspellings. Tired and had a rough day.


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

Posts by Date

December 2010
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Category Cloud

Giving of Gifts Gratefulness Guilt Free He is Our Help His Love Humility In Our Heart Judge Not Light Pray Always Troubles Uncategorized Whisper the Secret
 
