From the Heart

December 22, 2010 Donna New

There’s a time to speak and a time to remain quiet. We need discernment from the Lord as to when our time is to speak. Christmas was exciting to the Shepherds and they told everyone. But there was someone in the forefront who quietly took it all in.

And when they saw it, they made known what had been told them concerning the Child. And all who heard it were astounded and marveled at what the Shepherds told them. But Mary was keeping within herself all these things (sayings) weighing and pondering them in her heart. Luke 2:17-19

How can you tell when to speak and when to remain quiet? For me if someone is hungry and asking questions I speak. If they don’t want to hear I don’t speak. But for you the answer may be different. That’s where discernment comes in and hearing from the Lord at a particular time.

When we do speak we need to speak with gentleness and respect. After Mary had treasured these things in her heart I can only imagine her speaking them quietly and maybe with tears of joy. They were processed by her heart, they would be spoken from her heart not her mind.

I want to be more like Mary. I need to ponder and weigh things before I blurt them out. I want to be more sensitive to when the Lord is leading to be quiet. When I talk I want it to be from my heart and not my intellect.

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. heather joy  |  December 22, 2010 at 7:04 am

    I too have considered the life of Mary and wish my life to be an example like hers. She obeyed without asking question. She lived without fearing the ridicule of others. She loved with abandon.

    Great post.

    • 2. purplefacedpansy  |  December 22, 2010 at 10:58 am

      Thank you. She was a quiet soul who loved God and like you said just obeyed. I could learn alot from her too.


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

Posts by Date

December 2010
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Category Cloud

Giving of Gifts Gratefulness Guilt Free He is Our Help His Love Humility In Our Heart Judge Not Light Pray Always Troubles Uncategorized Whisper the Secret
 
