He Stood by Them

December 23, 2010 Donna New

When I was working I always had bosses that I had good relationships with. I felt like their daughter more than their employee. If they would come in to talk to me they would sit across from me, putting me at ease as if we were having a father daughter conversation. They never belittled me or tried to intimidate me. I always loved them coming into my office or me going into theirs. Even so, there was a certain respect that this is the man I work for and I need to behave appropriately.

Our shepherds in Luke 2 had someone come and stand near them to assure them. This someone was an angel who by nature commanded more than respect, even fear. But he told the shepherds they weren’t in trouble,  the angel was bringing good news for them and for the world. They could relax.

And behold an angel of the Lord stood by them, and the glory of the Lord flashed and shone all about them, and they were terribly frightened. But the angel said to them, Do not be afraid, for behold I bring you good news of a great joy which will come to the people. Luke 2:9, 10

I had one boss that brought me good news. I had a deep dark fear inside that I had never spoken. He wasn’t speaking to me but to a friend who was in the office with me. My boss told him that our pasts are negligible and we have a future as bright as the angel’s glory. The tears flowed and flowed in relief and joy.

Messengers can be wonderful people or angels. They bring us good news or news to assist us through life. And you feel kindred to them because they invade your heart with a message that is personal. And when it’s good news they invade your heart with joy and excitement like the shepherds experienced when the angel popped in on them.

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

Posts by Date

December 2010
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Category Cloud

Giving of Gifts Gratefulness Guilt Free He is Our Help His Love Humility In Our Heart Judge Not Light Pray Always Troubles Uncategorized Whisper the Secret
 
