Helpless

January 2, 2011 Donna New

The person who wrote this Psalm was in great danger and turmoil when he cried out to the Lord. This is what he wrote after the Lord had rescued him.

I love the Lord because He has heard my appeal for mercy. Because He has turned His ear to me, I will call [out to Him] as long as I live. Psalm 116:1,2 The Lord is gracious and righteous, our God is compassionate. The Lord guards the inexperienced; I was helpless, and He saved me. Return to your rest my soul, for the Lord has been good to you. Psalm 116:5-7

There are situations for which I pray God’s mercy. Some of them are for safety of others, some are for personal issues – mine or others. I never get over Him answering my prayers. It’s amazing that He would not only hear, but that He would bend down His ear to listen. (v.2) God in heaven bends down His ear to me on earth so He can hear my hopes and requests. How tender He is.

He guards the inexperienced and saves the helpless. To me we are all helpless and inexperienced. Our knowledge and strength compared to the Lords is quite small. But the importance of admitting it is shown. Because if we are using our own ideas and acting without asking God we’re quite independent and not needy of Him. How can He move on our behalf? So we bow before Him on our knees or in our soul and humbly ask the request or speak the dilemma. That’s when He can bend down and hear.

It’s funny to me that David then says “Rest, my soul.” He’s talking to himself. But sometimes we need to say “Relax, God bent down His ear to hear before, He’ll bend down to hear again.” He’s near and we need to be reminded. When no one else is reminding us we have to have a little conversation with our soul.

There was a five year old in a school of my brother who is a School Policeman. This five year old was doing and saying some things that showed he needed to be protected from harming himself. My brother, Jimmy, called his mom and she was nonchalant and unconcerned. He couldn’t be left with his mom in this condition. Jimmy took his hand and walked him out to his car and buckled him in the back seat. There was a curious George in the back seat that my brother keeps as a conversation starter for his kids. The little one talked to him about curious George and asked him if they could get ice cream. Well they couldn’t stop of course so he took him on to the hospital. At the hospital they wouldn’t believe Jimmy that a little one like that would need protection and psychiatric help. My brother had to get tough with them and say ask him the questions yourself! They did and they realized this little boy was in danger. He was helpless against himself. He needed someone bigger to protect him. Someone who would bend his ear and listen and rescue him. That’s how our God loves us.

Entry Filed under: He is Our Help

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mary C.  |  January 6, 2011 at 4:33 pm

    As a side note, I think it is interesting to realize that David, the Apple of God’s Eye, is so joyful in one chapter, but in the next he’s downhearted, then he’s full of praises, etc.

    That just reinstates the fact that he’s human, just like me. That’s just one more thing that makes the Bible more personal to me, ya know?

    Anyways, praise God for His help and abundant mercy, for where would we be without Him today?

    (Oh, and I’m glad your brother did the right thing by helping that boy out.)

    • 2. purplefacedpansy  |  January 7, 2011 at 4:46 am

      Mary, The Bible is so personal in so many ways. You’re absolutely right. David’s psalms help me praise the Lord when things are tough. It’s good to have real people in God’s word. Thank you for the comment.

      • 3. Mary C.  |  January 8, 2011 at 12:16 am

        No problem, I enjoyed reading your posts. They can be thought provoking! 🙂

        I think that a lot of churches get so caught up in the Bible “stories” that they don’t realize the full impact of it being a Bible TRUTH! (Does that make sense? lol)

        Well, have a fantastic day!


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

Posts by Date

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Category Cloud

Giving of Gifts Gratefulness Guilt Free He is Our Help His Love Humility In Our Heart Judge Not Light Pray Always Troubles Uncategorized Whisper the Secret
 
