The Center

January 5, 2011 Donna New

I have too many things that need to be done today. I feel like Martha in this story. She has so much to do with no help that she gets frustrated and fusses at Jesus to tell Mary to help her out. But Jesus says…

Luke 10:42 “but one thing is necessary. Mary has made the right choice, and it will not be taken away from her.” In the Amplified Bible it says “Mary has chosen the good portion [that which is to her advantage]…”

The good portion – a piece of life that is sweet. I want the good portion. I want a piece of Jesus instead of a piece of busyness.

Practically speaking we can’t sit and study the Bible all day even if we were all pastors. They have to visit the sick, be with their families, take a break now and then. And Jesus Himself took time out to be near His Heavenly Father but it was amidst healing people, feeding people, preaching and teaching His disciples. So busyness is not a sin.

What matters is that we take the time at the right time, morning or evening, to be near Him, to get our sweet portion. We need those moments of honesty before the Lord to center us. That way, when we go out into our busyness He remains in us, permeating our souls and all we do. Jesus spent time with His Father and He was always listening to His Father’s will as He went about His way.

God has been speaking to me about Him being the Center of my life…not my family, not me, not my stuff or clothes, not friends. Him. That to me means a quiet time but not only that keeping my heart listening to Him all day long. I need to worship in my heart 24/7 so that my thoughts are right and my actions are right. And not just so I perform well but so that I’m filled with Him and touch hearts. Because that’s what Jesus was here for so that’s what I’m here for. Help me Lord, for my weakness is great.

Entry Filed under: In Our Heart,Pray Always

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. heather joy  |  January 5, 2011 at 7:44 am

    Having a Mary heart in a Martha world isn’t always easy… but it’s worth it.
    God bless you.

  • 3. Sarah  |  January 5, 2011 at 12:10 pm

    I have found when I slip away from doing my daily quiet time- the old me slips back into my daily actions and words. just the other day I was like snapping at people so easily and I stopped myself and was like what’s going on here? It was like the Holy Spirit said to me “you have been away from Him to long.”

    • 4. purplefacedpansy  |  January 5, 2011 at 1:38 pm

      Sarah, I’m the same way. Mainly I lose my smile and become very irritable. It’s a good thing the Holy Spirit speaks to our hearts.


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

Posts by Date

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Category Cloud

Giving of Gifts Gratefulness Guilt Free He is Our Help His Love Humility In Our Heart Judge Not Light Pray Always Troubles Uncategorized Whisper the Secret
 
