The Center (cont’d)

January 6, 2011 Donna New

I wanted to continue from yesterday because something I said could be misunderstood. When Jesus is the center of your life – not your family or material goods or friends – He fills you with His Holy Spirit so you know how to treat those people in your life and you know the low priority you place on material goods. It doesn’t mean you love Jesus and use people. It means you love Jesus more and people more. It means you become closer to people as you become closer to Jesus.

Matthew 7:9-11 What man among you if his son asks for bread will give him a stone? Or if he asks for a fish will give him a snake? If you then who are evil know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father in heaven give good things to those who ask Him!

In other words it should come natural to us to give to each other what we need. Most of those who may not know Jesus give to their children bread and fish to eat, not stones or snakes. But as we get to know our Father in heaven we will even “much more” give good things to those who ask us because we’ll become more like Him.

My relationship with Jesus needs to be the center for me. I need to walk and talk with Him moment by moment. The reason why is that I’ll be filled with the Holy Spirit so that people receive from me a touch of Jesus and not a stone or a snake. I want to love them God’s generous way. And a perk of being near Jesus is that God gives good gifts to those who ask Him. I need that reassurance when I pray for my family and friends.

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sarah  |  January 6, 2011 at 9:26 am

    When I made the comment yesterday this is what I was trying to say also. When we are away from the Lord for a short time-neglecting our time with Him-those around us suffer. I understood what you were sasying yesterday. When He is in the center of our lives everyone around us reaps the rewards.

    • 2. purplefacedpansy  |  January 6, 2011 at 11:36 am

      That’s very well said. I’m glad you commented today. You wrote in different words what I was trying to get across. Thanks.

  • 3. joseph  |  January 11, 2011 at 9:53 am

    good


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

Posts by Date

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Category Cloud

Giving of Gifts Gratefulness Guilt Free He is Our Help His Love Humility In Our Heart Judge Not Light Pray Always Troubles Uncategorized Whisper the Secret
 
