Stubborn Heart

January 9, 2011 Donna New

Psalm 112:7 “He shall not be afraid of evil tidings; his heart is firmly fixed, trusting (leaning on and being confident) in the Lord.”

This person in Psalm 112 is gracious, compassionate, generous and just among other good qualities. He didn’t really get that way on his own. He just began by fearing (reverencing and worshiping) the Lord.

It’s almost a growth process in this Psalm. He starts out worshiping and giving the Lord reverence. He then becomes gracious and all the other beautiful qualities we should have as Christians. Then something magical happens…his heart is steadfast, established, fixed not hard hearted but soft yet not going anywhere…dependable. It isn’t blown and tossed by the waves of doubt any more. He completely trusts in His Lord. He’s not only at peace but he’s stubbornly not moving from Jesus.

This reminds me of Ephesians 1:13, 14 “In Him you also who have heard the Word of Truth, the glad tidings of your salvation, and have believed in and adhered to and relied on Him, were stamped with the seal of the long promised Holy Spirit, that is the guarantee of our inheritance….”

The steadfast heart, the one sealed with the Holy Spirit comes from God not from us. We start out simply worshiping and bowing before Him in our hearts and He makes us generous, gracious and puts in us the qualities Jesus showed us on earth. Then He makes our heart immovable, stubbornly trusting because we have that seal, that permanent seal that keeps us, Who is the Holy Spirit.

I may have a couple of qualities that the Lord has given me but my heart is tossed a bit by the waves. I’ve got some growing to do. I need to worship and revere¬† Him more so He can add the Jesus qualities to me. I’m already sealed by the Holy Spirit, when He and I met and I fell in love, but I have to grow into that permanence and that confidence. I will because He says…He who began a good work in you will be faithful to complete it.

Entry Filed under: He is Our Help,In Our Heart

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sarah  |  January 9, 2011 at 2:20 pm

    Thanks for sharing your heart today. This morning I was really restless and couldn’t sleep. Fear was stirring in my mind. I came down to do my devotion and I thought that I would check my email first. And there was your post using Psalm 112:7. God is so good at giving us what we need, when we need it. He used you this morning to help me.

    • 2. purplefacedpansy  |  January 10, 2011 at 2:47 am

      Sarah, thank you so much for sharing that with me. That encourages me so much. Usually I go searching for Scripture to go with what the Lord puts on my heart. This time the Lord led me to the Scripture He wanted me to use first. The Bible literally fell open to that page. I wonder why He does that sometime but I’m just glad He does. I’ll be praying for your fear, that His peace that only He gives, not as the world gives will cover you.


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

Posts by Date

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Category Cloud

Giving of Gifts Gratefulness Guilt Free He is Our Help His Love Humility In Our Heart Judge Not Light Pray Always Troubles Uncategorized Whisper the Secret
 
