The Fashion Show

January 11, 2011 Donna New

For Adam also and for his wife the Lord God made long coats (tunics) of skins and clothed them. Genesis 3:21

I was browsing through a fashion magazine today. I like different outfits. My favorite are the more feminine ones. Well there was one in this magazine that had a loosely form fitting bodice of white sequined material and a skirt made of white feathers, completely. It was rather pretty and romantic.

I can only imagine this first fashion show Adam and Eve were in with God Himself designing their clothes.  Eve wearing her warm, long, fur tunic. Adam wearing the same. Finally being really covered after their sin.

Not only were they covered physically but Lysa TerKeurst said God by His grace covered them in blood. Without blood there is no remission of sins. (Hebrews 9:22) He sacrificed two innocent animals to make their tunics. But He did it to show that His Son was coming to be sacrificed, an innocent human being, for Eve’s sin, for Adam’s sin, for my sin, for yours.

It’s a very sad thought that innocent blood must be shed for my sin. But I’m so grateful that He has covered me with a spiritual tunic. Guilt is gone. Peace comes. Release lets loose. I love my God. I thank my Jesus who was pictured in Genesis thousands of years before He came by a tender God who loved His children more than He loved His law.

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Carol Gray  |  January 13, 2011 at 12:30 am

    I never thought of the animal skins in that way before.
    they are a picture of shed blood to cover the sin. I see Jesus in Genesis. Please help me find jesus other places in the O.T.
    Thanks.

    • 2. purplefacedpansy  |  January 13, 2011 at 5:28 am

      Hi Carol, I love the Old Testament so I’ll be using it some more. He’s everywhere in the Bible. And He’s just beautiful. Thank you for your comment. It encourages me and I really appreciate it. Have a wonderful day!….Donna


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

Posts by Date

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Category Cloud

Giving of Gifts Gratefulness Guilt Free He is Our Help His Love Humility In Our Heart Judge Not Light Pray Always Troubles Uncategorized Whisper the Secret
 
