Just Like Rain

January 26, 2011 Donna New

For just as rain and snow fall from heaven, and do not return there without saturating the earth, and making it germinate and sprout, and providing seed to sow and food to eat, so My word that comes from My mouth will not return to Me empty, but it will accomplish what I please, and will prosper in what I send it [to do]. Isaiah 55:10, 11

We had a really pouring, tornado warning rain last night. I sat in my safe room with a hamburger, no bread, and listened to the radio announcer tell me when I could come out. But this rain will wake my plants and give them nourishment to get through these winter months. Everything also is so clean and bright when it’s rained. It may even revive my periwinkle which is brown and dry. It will certainly quell the fire hazard we have been living with.

God sends the rain for all of those purposes. And when he sends rain it accomplishes what He sent it for.

His word is the same way. When we hear and receive the way the earth does so thoroughly, God accomplishes a cleansing in our lives. He feeds and nourishes our soul. He quenches the dry and thirsty one.

This is true for God’s word falling on closed ears, and for God’s word falling on open hearts. His word brings healing and strength and joy and conviction. Part of the reason His word brings healing is that it comes straight from the mouth of God. He knows our heart and He knows how to apply His word to the places we need it. I was given a verse by opening the Bible to Isaiah and it talked about complacent women. I realized I had been apathetic about my weight and exercise and other areas of my life. The Lord in Isaiah said put on sackcloth and mourn. That to me means confess it and ask the Lord for His help. So I did and I’m working on the exercise and weight. The Lord was not harsh with me but He woke me up so I could start moving in a better direction. It was something between He and I that I needed and was blessed with a little nudge. It was the word straight from His mouth.

Entry Filed under: He is Our Help,In Our Heart

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

Posts by Date

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Category Cloud

Giving of Gifts Gratefulness Guilt Free He is Our Help His Love Humility In Our Heart Judge Not Light Pray Always Troubles Uncategorized Whisper the Secret
 
