What is Love?

January 29, 2011 Donna New

Philippians 1:6-8 Amp …a summary… He who began the work in you will complete it. How do I know? Because you have me in your heart and I have you in my heart. For I long for you and pursue you with tender mercies like our Savior had. This is Paul talking to the Philippians.

John 13:35 That’s how Paul knew the work would be complete in them because they were Christians who showed love. There are people who show their tender mercies towards me and there’s no question they are being completed. I want to learn from them how to show people tender mercies.

My brothers show me tender mercies. They build me a handrail for my steps outside. They climb the attic stairs which I can no longer do. They discuss major purchases with me to make sure I get something useful, of good quality and pleasing to me and all with a sense of humor. They show such love through the practical help they give. How do I give back or show this love to others?

Maybe I’m meant to love in a different way. I’m a girl for one and I don’t have their knowledge for two. Yeah, I was meant to love differently. Prayer is something the Lord has called me to. I need to be faithful in prayer. Writing this the Lord called me to so I need to write honestly and with care. I’m activities coordinator for the Singles Group at Church. I need to be improving in that area and it needs to be ministered with tender mercies.

Lord, show tender mercies through me. They have been lavished on me through my friends and family. Show me how to love. Paul is such a beautiful example with the Philippians of the two way street of Jesus’ affection and mercy. Make me like my Savior.

Entry Filed under: Giving of Gifts,Pray Always

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. heather joy  |  February 9, 2011 at 7:47 am

    Somehow I missed this post. :[

    But what a beautiful post it was! Thank you for sharing this.


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

Posts by Date

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Category Cloud

Giving of Gifts Gratefulness Guilt Free He is Our Help His Love Humility In Our Heart Judge Not Light Pray Always Troubles Uncategorized Whisper the Secret
 
