His Delight

January 30, 2011 Donna New

Whom have I in heaven but You? And I have no delight or desire on earth besides you….But it is good for me to draw near to God; I have put my trust in the Lord God and made Him my refuge, that I may tell of all Your works. Psalm 73:25, 28

This person loved his God. Asaph, the Psalmist, had no desire in earth or heaven besides the Lord. Maybe it was because he drew near to God by telling Him his joys and sorrows not just once a day but throughout the day. And maybe he asked the Lord what he should do in each situation. He also knew God loved him and favored him because that’s the only reason He would be a delight to him. I have that kind of love from God, we all do. He loves and favors us all affectionately. But I want to develop that kind of love FOR God. I want to learn from Asaph.

Because he loved the Lord he knew the Lord was trustworthy and mighty to take refuge in. God is a safe place for us to hide when things get rough. And then he couldn’t help but talk about all God had done.

It says in verse 73:27 that there are people who are as far away from God as Asaph is near. These people are false rather than honest with God. If Asaph talked to God during the day he must have been real and genuine or it wouldn’t have brought him near. And these people worship other gods when they are God’s people. Someone said football is an idol and money could be an idol. There are things that occupy my time when I should be talking with the Lord and asking Him what I should be doing. These things don’t have to be an idol and there are many things that could be an idol for us. It takes discernment by saying Lord help me worship you better with my life.

Entry Filed under: He is Our Help,In Our Heart,Pray Always

One Comment Add your own

  • 1. Sarah  |  January 30, 2011 at 1:53 pm

    I liked this. My word I have chosen this year to help draw me into a closer relationship with the Lord is “delight”. I want to delight in Him more everyday.


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

Posts by Date

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Category Cloud

Giving of Gifts Gratefulness Guilt Free He is Our Help His Love Humility In Our Heart Judge Not Light Pray Always Troubles Uncategorized Whisper the Secret
 
