Pride

February 28, 2011 Donna New

Do you ever get to feeling like you’re all that? I do sometimes. I get prideful when I’ve had a quiet time all week. I am proud (of all things!) when I get an answer to prayer. And I get proud of a lot of other qualities I won’t go into right now.

When I have a quiet time it’s because God called me there and spoke to me there. If I get an answer to prayer it’s because God moved His hand on someone else’s behalf. And the other qualities God gave me I didn’t place them in me.

Well, Job was beginning to think he was all that and was going to approach the Lord and tell Him something he was doing wrong here. And this is part of the answer God gave Job. “Have you an arm like God? Or can you thunder with a voice like His? [Since you question the manner of the Almighty’s rule] deck yourself now with the excellence and dignity [of the Supreme Ruler, and your self undertake the government of the world]…Job 40:9, 10

We are small, with a tiny whisper of a voice. Only the flowers were decorated more beautifully than Solomon and we can’t dress ourselves to be as regal as God. We depend on Him for our clothes. And to rule the world is a responsibility no sane person would want.

We are blessed that Almighty, Sovereign, Never-changing God loves us. Oh what He could do to us if He didn’t. But He spoke to Job and explained to him that He doesn’t answer to anyone, not even those that find favor with Him. However He chooses to bless us and He chooses to give us His wisdom and His mercy. He’s a God of patience and grace. He’s even One who wants us to roll our cares on Him because He cares for us. What security to have a God Almighty and caring.

Entry Filed under: He is Our Help

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

Posts by Date

February 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  

Category Cloud

Giving of Gifts Gratefulness Guilt Free He is Our Help His Love Humility In Our Heart Judge Not Light Pray Always Troubles Uncategorized Whisper the Secret
 
