Mercy

June 1, 2011 Donna New

O Lord, I beseech thee, let now thine ear be attentive to the prayer of thy servant, and to the prayer of thy servants, who delight to fear thy name; and prosper, I pray thee, thy servant this day, and grant him mercy in the sight of this man. Now I was cupbearer to the king.  Nehemiah 1:11

Nehemiah was praying for mercy before the king. But he had first prayed for mercy before his King, the Lord of Israel. He and the people had sinned and before mercy comes on earth mercy is needed from heaven.

“let now thine ear be attentive to the prayer of thy servant” I listen sometimes with a thought of me. I’m not really caring or feeling the other person’s story. Nehemiah is asking God to hear with all His heart.  Focus, please Lord, on what I’m really saying. We need a plan but mostly we need mercy.

Nehemiah was cupbearer. He tasted the king’s wine before the king drank to make sure there was no poison in what the king drank. What a scary job but it gave him nearness to the king. Nehemiah prayed for days turned into weeks turned into months for mercy from the king. He finally found it at the perfect time.

Nehemiah prayed and fasted for days.  He kept praying for months. He focused with a purpose in mind. I need that kind of fervor. I need a hunger for God’s mercy in my life. I need to pray.

Entry Filed under: Guilt Free,He is Our Help,His Love,Humility,In Our Heart,Pray Always

One Comment Add your own

  • 1. Rolex DayDate  |  June 2, 2011 at 11:57 am

    With havin so much content and articles do you ever run into any issues of plagorism or copyright infringement? My blog has a lot of exclusive content I’ve either created myself or outsourced but it seems a lot of it is popping it up all over the internet without my authorization. Do you know any techniques to help prevent content from being stolen? I’d genuinely appreciate it.


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

Posts by Date

June 2011
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Category Cloud

Giving of Gifts Gratefulness Guilt Free He is Our Help His Love Humility In Our Heart Judge Not Light Pray Always Troubles Uncategorized Whisper the Secret
 
