Archive for November 3rd, 2010




Your Strength

Then he said unto them, Go your way, eat the fat, and drink the sweet, and send portions unto them for whom nothing is prepared: for this day is holy unto our Lord: neither be ye sorry; for the joy of the LORD is your strength. Jeremiah 8:10

I’ve had a crazy month. It hasn’t been bad, just crazy. My car ran out of gas while I was on my way to a meeting. My brother came to the rescue. I parked my truck cattycorner in a ditch. My brother came to the rescue. Now my credit card was stolen. The police and the bank and my brother came to the rescue. So I have much to be thankful for in being rescued each time.

It can get discouraging to me for a lot of events to go wrong in a short period of time. But the Lord gives us some advice for some days when we’re down. It is to  eat and enjoy the life that God has given you. And also to give to others what they need.

So in this case the joy of the Lord is our strength and we have to make an effort to find it. One way is by giving a meal, a smile, money, whatever is needed to someone else. There are actual endorphins that make us feel better released when we give.

The joy of the Lord is our strength. So maybe watching a funny movie, or reading a funny book or laughing with your friends or family or listening to the radio and dancing is a way to find joy. That joy keeps us from being weak.

The chorus to the Desert Song shows how to find joy and strength in days we struggle.

And I will sing praise
I will sing praise
No weapon formed against me shall remain.

I will sing praise
I will declare
God is my victory and He is here.

All of my life,
In every season,
You are still God;
I have a reason to sing.
I have a reason to worship.
– By Fraser, Brook Gabrielle

Add a comment November 3, 2010

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other subscribers

Posts by Date

November 2010
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Category Cloud

Giving of Gifts Gratefulness Guilt Free He is Our Help His Love Humility In Our Heart Judge Not Light Pray Always Troubles Uncategorized Whisper the Secret